Curtiss, LaPorte to play in Rotary Classic

BRATTLEBORO — Brattleboro Union High School varsity ice hockey players Hannah Curtiss and Sarah LaPorte will play in the 33rd annual girls Rotary All Star Classic on Saturday at Essex Skating Facility at 4 p.m.

"Hannah Curtiss is a four-year varsity letterman. She has been an important part of our defense, our power play, our penalty kill, and - most recently - our offense. As a coach, she is one of the players I want to have on the ice at all times," said BUHS coach Linda Burke.

The Colonel girls went 6-14-1, including a loss to Woodstock in the Division 2 playoffs.

"Captain Sarah LaPorte is another of those players that I want on the ice at all times. She was the quarterback of our power play, backbone of our defense, and has been a rock for this team over the four years she has played," noted Burke. "She carried us more than once this season. She is leaving some huge skates to fill but I'd like to think that the younger defenders have learned by watching her this season."

All proceeds from the game are used by Essex Rotary for many service projects including scholarships for area students; Food Shelves; helping hand to people in the community; the Rotary Foundation; and a variety of local, national and international assistance projects.

"I also think not naming senior goalie Keagan Jameson to the Rotary team was a disappointment. She was one of the top goalies in our league this, her senior year. She has worked hard over the four years that she played for the Colonels and I think anyone who watched her play this season would agree that her omission from the Rotary roster was an oversight," stated Burke.

The four goalies chosen were Lindsey Hallowell of Essex, BC's Jenna Blondin, Carolyn Laird of Rutland, and Harwood's Alison Yandow.

Curtiss will play on the Austin Team along with Kait Laroe (BFA), Emma Hill (BFA), Anna Burke (MMU), Kaylee O'Brian (BFA), Clare Sheahan (Rice), Lauren Hagerty (MMU), Audry Scott (MMU), Jessie Casey (BFA), Julia Finnegan (South Burlington), Justine Martin (Essex), Sydney LaPlant (Essex), Meghan Hawley (MMU), Hanna Fischer (South Burlington), Josie Toof (South Burlington), Lindsey Hallowell (Essex) and Jenna Blondin (BC).

Joining LaPorte on the Harris Team will be: Jessica Scott (Spaulding), Julie Carone (Middlebury), Courtney Amell (Northfield), Caitlin Laird (Rutland), Monroe Cromis (Middlebury), Michaela Bernier (U-32), Olivia Thayer (Missisquoi), Jordyn Michaud (U-32), Brianna Walker (Missisquoi), Molly Wetmore (Middlebury), Lily Schillinger (Rutland), Katja Steupert (Rutland), Olivia Couture (Spaulding), Jenna Bourdeau (Missisquoi), Carolyn Laird (Rutland) and Alison Yandow (Harwood).


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions