Windham Regional Career Center: Senior Awards Ceremony 2017

Special to the Reformer

BRATTLEBORO — The Windham Regional Career Center held its Senior Celebration Evening on June 7 in the Brattleboro Area Middle School multipurpose room. The celebration was in honor of the Center's graduating seniors representing 20 different programs. The Culinary Program prepared a meal for everyone attending.

Michael Burnett, WRCC Director, welcomed Ron Stahley, Superintendent of the Windham Southeast Supervisory Union, and Bob Woodworth, chairpman of the Regional Advisory Board, each saying a few words to start the ceremony.

Burnett said a few words recognizing Stahley and presented him with an Adirondack chair to enjoy in retirement. Burnett then introduced the keynote speaker — Joel Kalinowski, a past student of WRCC and the owner of the consulting firm, Blatant Expressions.

The Dance Program performed a piece that was choreographed by five students were nominated and inducted into the National Technical Honor Society.

Maribeth Cornell, NTHS advisor and instructor of WRCC Business classes, introduced each student giving highlights about their skills and accomplishments. These students went through a rigorous essay-based application process, earned an A in each quarter in their Career Center program and maintained at least a B average in their other academic courses this year. The inductees are Jocelyn Aither, Marissa Betit, Tia Gilbeau, Caleb Hayes, and Emmalee Waite all from the Medical Human Services Program.

Burnett introduced Betsy Gentile, WRCC Ambassador Advisor, for a special recognition of the 2016-17 WRCC ambassadors. Members are Ben Kaufman, Cassie Dunn, Cody Hellus, Jemez Jobin, Jeremy Lackey, Jocelyn Aither, Madison Fortier, Alec Pelton, Megan Pennell, Miles Hiler, Rachel Pennell, Sara Gauthier, Seth Rhodes, Taylor Florence, Yvonne Harrison and Joy Kondracki.

Burnett introduced Jim Valliere, automotive instructor, to present the Twin State Trucking Scholarship. Valliere presented this scholarship to Ethan Waterman. The Franklin Auto NAPA Parts Supplier Award was presented to Emily Gale. Valliere also presented the Performance Motors Award to Josh Smith.

Maribeth Cornell presented the Warner L. Thomas Business Student Scholarship to Sara Gauthier. The Brattleboro Savings & Loan Scholarship was presented to Sara Gauthier by Donna Rathbun. The Ernest Flagg Scholarship was presented by Gene Whitney to Nate Tyler. Errold Nelson presented the Brattleboro Garden Club Scholarship to Troy Felisko and Jeremy Lackey.

Burnett presented the Cusato Fernando Bruno Scholarship to Korie Clich . The Raymond Harrington Award was presented by Tom Fagella to Josh Smith. Duane Young presented the Brent Young Award to Seth Gero. Errold Nelson presented the Cersosimo Lumber Company Scholarship to Troy Felisko. Nelson also presented The Allard Lumber Company Scholarship to Seth Rhodes and the James Brown Memorial Fund Scholarship to Seth Rhodes and Troy Felisko.

Anne Doran presented the Vermont Honors Scholarship to Seth Rhodes. Burnett presented the James Cusick Memorial Award to Jeremy Lackey and the William Dennen

Overall WRCC Outstanding Student to Jemez Jobin.

In closing, Burnett recognized three staff members that are not returning to WRCC next year. Laura Reed, Marty Litch and Betsy Gentile are retiring this year.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions